Go TO Content

In 1993, the United Nations adopted the "Principles on the Status of National Institutions for the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights" (commonly known as the "Paris Principles") to encourage, advocate and assist countries in setting up national human rights institutions (NHRIs). The "Paris Principles" also stipulates the essential components of an NHRI and its important mandate.

Under the ROC five-power Constitution, the Control Yuan not only independently exercises its powers and supervises governments and public servants at all levels, it also shoulders the responsibility of protecting human rights. About 50% of the investigation cases completed over the years by the Control Yuan, are related to various human rights issues. In order to strengthen its human rights protection function, the Control Yuan set up the "Human Rights Protection Committee"in March 2000 to enhance human rights in the country.

In order to establish an NHRI that complies with the "Paris Principles," the Legislative Yuan passed the "Organic Act of the Control Yuan National Human Rights Commission" on the World Human Rights Day on December 10, 2019, and amended Paragraph 7, Article 3-1 of the "Organic Law of the Control Yuan" concerning the qualifications of its Members with professional background in human rights. The law and the amendments were promulgated by the ROC President on January 8, 2020.

The law has specified that the "Organic Act of the Control Yuan National Human Rights Commission" shall come into force on May 1, 2020, and the "National Human Rights Commission" shall be officially inaugurated on August 1, 2020, on the same day when the 6th term Control Yuan Members take office. Among the Members, 7 of them with human rights expertise such as children, women, indigenous peoples, people with disabilities, and law serve concurrently as the members of the National Human Rights Commission, fully demonstrating the diverse values ​​of human rights. This is a milestone in the promotion and protection of human rights in Taiwan.

The membership of the Commission is as follows: